AKHIMA Scholarship Announcement

The AKHIMA Scholarship Committee is now accepting applications for two scholarships for the 2022-2023 academic year.

  • Amber Peterson Scholarship
    • $500.00 award to pay for the RHIT examination.
    • Type: For students at the end of their HIM Program who are preparing to sit for the RHIT examination.
  • Alecia Graham Scholarship
    • $1,000 award.
    • Type: For students in a HIA or HIT Program, who are Alaska residents, and are planning to sit for their RHIT or RHIA examination.

Eligibility & Requirements

  1. Member of AHIMA and have selected Alaska as the Component Association (CA).
  2. Enrolled in an RHIT or RHIA degree program, which is accredited and have completed at least 50% of that curriculum.
  3. Have an overall grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better.
  4. Not have received an AKHIMA scholarship at any time previously.
  5. Submit completed applications with all required components by the deadline.

Application and Award Dates for 2022:

  • October 13:  Application Opens
  • February 28: Application Closes
  • April Annual Meeting: Recipients are notified